• Log in

History

The Federal Chamber of Lawyers views its activity in connection with the history of the Russian Bar, founded in 1864 as a result of the judicial reform of Alexander II

In November 1864 the Judicial Statutes were adopted, establishing the Bar as a required element of open adversary legal proceedings. According to the Statutes the Bar existed under judicial chambers and district courts. Councils of barristers, the self-government bodies of the Bar, were formed under judicial chambers. Barristers took part in proceedings either upon agreement with the client or on appointment of the court chairman or the jury in case the client used the “poor law”.

According to Alexander II, the result of the judicial reform would be “establishment of a prompt, just, and gracious court equal for all citizens.” After 50 years from the judicial reform of 1864, Councils of barristers (self-government bodies of the Bar) had been formed under nine judicial chambers. They included 5,5 thousand barristers and 2 thousand non-registered advocates.On November 24th, 1917 the Decree of the Council of People’s Commissars “On the Court” abolished the former judicial system. 


 
 

When the Criminal Proceedings Code of the Russian Soviet Federated Socialist Republic was adopted in 1922, advocates to some extent got their role in court proceedings and the right to professional associations back. Advocate’s activity was supervised by courts and prosecution office, as well as local executive authorities –provincial executive committees.

The Statute on the Bar adopted in 1939 maintained the dependence of advocates from governmental and party authorities. The latter had the right to disbar advocates.
In 1969 a new Statute on the Bar was adopted: regardless that bar associations were still under control of departments of justice under regional executive committees and city Councils of workers’ deputies, self-government of the advocate community was already similar to its pre-revolutionary state.

Only after 10 years the first law in Russian history specifically governing advocate’s activity, the Law “On the Bar in the USSR”, was adopted. In 1980 the law of the RSFSR “On the Bar in the RSFSR” and the Statute on the Bar of the RSFSR were adopted. These acts did not introduce fundamental changes to the structure of the advocate community, but they extended the list of advocates’ rights. They provided an opportunity to form bar associations upon the initiative of the lawyers themselves, аnd administrative control was replaced by party control which was executed by advocates – party members. Bar associations undertook educational activities, science research institutes on judicial defense were established under bar associations, representatives of the corporation exchanged experience on all-Union and regional conferences and seminars. The Bar made its first steps towards new associations.

In 1989 the first nationwide bar association, the Union of Lawyers of the USSR, was established by the Congress of Advocates. G. Voskresensky was elected as President of the Council, M. Hofstein, G. Padva and V. Kalitvin as his deputies.

After the dissolution of the Soviet Union corporate connections of the Bar significantly weakened. The advocate community had an important task in this transition period – adoption of a new law on the Bar. The State Duma of the Russian Federation had been working on its draft for almost seven years.

On April 26th, 2002 the President of the Russian Federation signed the Federal Law “On Advocate’s Activity and the Bar in the Russian Federation”. The advocate community became a united independent nationwide professional corporation based on self-government and being an important element of civil society.

In 2003 the 1st All-Russian Congress of Advocates took place, the Russian Federal Chamber of Lawyers was established, its governing bodies were elected, its Charter and Professional Code of Ethics were adopted. This was the start of a new era in the development of the Russian Bar as an essential part of civil society. 

NEWS
Advocate's Law was signed

Moscow City 02.06.2016

Amendments on advocate’s activities were made to the Russian legislation

Charter of friendly Bars

Saint-Petersburg 20.05.2016

Charter on The Fundamental Principles of Advocate’s Activity adopted in the VI St. Petersburg International Legal Forum

Preserving values of the profession

Saint-Petersburg 20.05.2016

On May 19, the International Conference of the Russian Federal Chamber of Advocates, one of the key events of the VI St. Petersburg International Legal Forum

• Войти
Array
(
    [/documents/legal_positions/] => Правовые позиции ФПА РФ
)

Вехи истории

Федеральная палата адвокатов рассматривает свою деятельность в неразрывной связи с полуторавековой историей российской адвокатуры, образованной в 1864 г. в ходе судебной реформы Александра II
В ноябре 1864 г. были утверждены Судебные уставы, которые узаконили в России присяжную адвокатуру как необходимый элемент открытого состязательного судебного процесса. Согласно Уставам, адвокатура состояла при судебных палатах и окружных судах. При палатах формировались органы адвокатского самоуправления – Советы присяжных поверенных. Присяжные поверенные участвовали в делах либо по соглашению с доверителем, либо по назначению председателей судов или Советов присяжных в случаях, когда доверители пользовались «правом бедности».

По определению Александра II, результатом судебной реформы должно было стать «водворение в России суда скорого, правого, милостивого и равного для всех подданных». К 50-летию судебной реформы 1864 г. Советы присяжных поверенных (органы адвокатского самоуправления) были образованы при девяти судебных палатах. В них насчитывалось 5,5 тысяч присяжных поверенных и 2 тысячи частных.

24 ноября 1917 г. Декретом Совнаркома «О суде» № 1 прежняя судебная система была ликвидирована.

 
 
С принятием в 1922 г. УПК РСФСР и «Положения о коллегии защитников» адвокатам в какой-то степени вернули их роль в судебном процесс и право на профессиональное объединение. При этом надзор за адвокатской деятельностью осуществляли как суды и прокуратура, так и органы исполнительной власти на местах – губисполкомы.

Принятое в 1939 г. Положение об адвокатуре в СССР сохранило зависимость адвокатов от органов государственной и партийной власти. Последние имели право исключать («отводить») адвокатов из коллегии.

В 1969 г. было принято новое Положение об адвокатуре: несмотря на то что коллегии адвокатов по-прежнему находились под контролем отделов юстиции исполкомов краев, областей и городских Советов депутатов трудящихся, самоуправление в адвокатском сообществе уже во многом напоминало дореволюционное.

И только спустя 10 лет был принят первый в истории российской адвокатуры специальный закон, регламентирующий адвокатскую деятельность, - Закон «Об адвокатуре в СССР». В 1980 г. были приняты Закон РСФСР «Об адвокатуре в РСФСР» и Положение об адвокатуре РСФСР. Эти документы не внесли принципиальных изменений в структуру адвокатского сообщества, но расширили права адвокатов. Появилась возможность образования коллегий по инициативе самих юристов, а государственный контроль из административного превратился в партийный, и стал осуществляться через адвокатов – членов партии. В коллегиях развернулась учебно-методическая работа, появились общественные НИИ судебной защиты при коллегиях, на всесоюзных и региональных совещаниях и семинарах представители корпорации обменивались опытом работы. Адвокатура делала первые шаги к новым объединениям.

В 1989 году на Съезде адвокатов было учреждено первое общенациональное объединение – Союз адвокатов СССР. Председателем правления Союза был избран Г.А. Воскресенский, его заместителями – М.А. Гофштейн, Г.П. Падва и В.В. Калитвин.

С развалом Советского Союза корпоративные связи адвокатуры заметно ослабли. Перед адвокатским сообществом в тот переходный период стояла важнейшая задача – добиться принятия нового закона об адвокатуре. Его проект почти семь лет находился в Государственной Думе Российской Федерации.

26 апреля 2002 г. Президент Российской Федерации подписал Федеральный закон «Об адвокатской деятельности и адвокатуре в Российской Федерации». С его принятием адвокатское сообщество стало единой независимой общенациональной профессиональной корпорацией, действующей на основах самоуправления и являющейся важнейшим институтом гражданского общества.

В 2003 г. был проведен I Всероссийский съезд адвокатов, учреждена Федеральная палата адвокатов РФ, избраны ее органы, принят Устав и Кодекс профессиональной этики. С этого момента началась новая эпоха развития российской адвокатуры как неотъемлемой части гражданско-правового общества.


НОВОСТИ
Арест – мера чрезмерно жесткая

Москва 22.02.2017

Пресс-служба ФПА РФ

Федеральная палата адвокатов РФ дала положительное заключение на законопроект, исключающий наказание в виде ареста

В профессии удалец – в быту подлец?

Кировская область 22.02.2017

Пресс-служба ФПА РФ

Опубликован блог президента АП Кировской области Марины Копыриной

Рекомендовано к принятию

21.02.2017

Пресс-служба ФПА РФ

Комитет Госдумы по госстроительству и законодательству одобрил президентский законопроект о дополнительных гарантиях независимости адвокатов